top of page
  • Writer's pictureKerry M

A Bunch of Breezy Blouses



In anticipation of rising temps, I sewed up several loose and airy tops. Two from a new-to-me pattern company and all from new-to-me patterns. I did not toile any of them and regard all of these as wearable toiles. Overall I'm pleased with how quickly most of them went together and how comfortable they are.


First up was the Itch to Stitch Galicia top, released on March 24, which I sewed up in a silk/linen swiss dot from my stash. I finished this blouse in time for Easter and posted it to my Instagram.


From cutting the fabric to sewing on the buttons and snapping a mirror selfie was a quick process.



I didn't make any alterations to the pattern and sewed a straight size 10DD as I have in other Itch to Stitch patterns. I like the way the fisheye darts in front and back provide shaping, but the blouse remains loose enough to be pulled on without undoing the back button placket completely. I also love the look of the gathers along the neckline in this sheer and lightweight fabric.


Next was a Helen's Closet Gilbert top made from a strawberry print crinkle rayon I picked up at Joann Fabrics. I can't find the fabric on their website anymore, but it's very lightweight and spongy. I selected this fabric and pattern to try and recreate a RTW shirt which I love and I think I came very close.



I used the tutorial for removing the tie-front from Helen's Closet, but otherwise made no alterations and sewed a size 14 per the measurement chart. The body is roomier than I would like and despite the oversized fit, the shirt is pulling up at center front. In future, I would go down a size in the body and do an FBA to add length.


My third make was another Helen's Closet pattern, the March top. I made this in a seersucker gingham also from JoAnn Fabrics. The construction of this top was interesting. Before I bought the pattern, I had assumed the center panel was created utilizing modified princess seams. However, it is actually applied on top of the shirt itself like an appliqued panel.



Based on my experience with the Gilbert top, I sized down to a 12 and then used the tutorial from Helen's Closet to do an FBA and add length to the March top. I'm very happy with the front panel, but I would use a lighter interfacing in future. I don't love the back, but I mis-cut one of the front panels and then didn't have enough fabric to do diagonals. I do love the dropped shoulder with the puff sleeve and could see myself making another one of these with modifications.


Finally, I made the Cashmerette Club Alton blouse in a bubble gauze from JoAnn Fabrics. This is the first Cashmerette Club pattern I've made, although I've been a member since it launched in February. This fabric was a pain to sew with and I'm not sure I'd buy something like it ever again even though the finished blouse is incredibly comfortable.



I sewed this blouse up in a 12 G/H per the measurement chart (and some of my previous Cashmerette patterns). I dislike wrist length sleeves in summer (I'm always pushing them up), so I shortened the sleeves by about 5" at the lengthen/shorten line. This brought the third pleat up to meet the first two. I thought about shifting it down the sleeve, but I actually like having the three together in a group. The front of this blouse comes down quite long, which means I want to tuck it in even though it creates a lot of bulk. I may go back later and shorten the front to make it more wearable for me untucked.


After finishing these, I've launched right into my next couple warm weather sewing projects. I had some lingering Fall/Winter Capsule projects, but I've decided to table them until later in the year when I can revisit them. I'll probably post about that in the next couple weeks.


These shirts all have minor mistakes (not catching all of the binding in my topstitching, sewing a yoke in backwards, etc) which I decided not to agonize about or re-do because they're meant to be wearable toiles. It was tough not to go back and fix these errors, but it made the sewing go faster and I'm much more motivated to keep sewing when I don't let the little things bog me down.



21 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page