top of page
  • Writer's pictureKerry M

Reviewing My 2021 Sewing

I recently got my colors done through Color Guru and I thought it might be nice to review my 2021 makes and include an analysis of the colors as compared to my recommended palette.


My Colors


I am what Color Guru calls a Moonlit Winter. I look best in cool, bright, clear colors. I mention it below on certain makes, but the most surprising thing to me is the bright yellow and lime in the bottom left of the palette.



I am very proud of this dress, but I haven't worn it very much. I haven't been in the office very much and this is an office dress.


I love this silhouette. I like a fitted bodice, a defined waistband, and more voluminous bottom.


Color-wise, this plaid is shades of Robin's egg blue and natural/taupe. When I bought this fabric, it felt like a risk - I do not think of these as being my colors - so I was surprised by how good it looked made up into a dress. According to my color analysis, however, both of these colors are in my palette!




I have worn this dress many times. It hits the sweet spot of being comfortable and looking good on a Zoom call.


This silhouette is so basic that I think the fabric choice has a lot of influence over the look of the final garment. I do intend to try and make the shirt version of this pattern at some point.


I bought this linen on impulse and thought it would look better on me than it did. It has navy, light blue, light pink, and a couple oranges. The blues and pink are in my palette, but the orange really dominates and is not my color.




I haven't worn these pants. They're beautiful, but the fabric gets static-y if you look at it. They need a lining, but I don't know if it's worth the time and effort.


These pants were the second garment I sewed with an elastic back waistband. It helped me realize that I don't like how those waistbands look or feel on me.


Every color in this fabric is part of my palette*. Even the lime green, which I previously would have assumed was not my color, appears in my palette. (*The background is really a very dark raisin color - which is not in my palette - but it appears black in person - which is.)




I adore this dress. I did not have any occasions to wear it last summer, but I hope to this year! Most of the stripe manipulation was driven by a cutting mistake and fabric amount limitations, but I love it more each time I see it in the closet.


While the neckline is a little daring for me, this fits right into my preferred silhouette.


True navy and candy apple red are always a safe combination for me (I have several RTW dresses in this color combination), so it's no surprise that both are in my palette.




This is another dress that is both comfortable and looks good on a Zoom call. I've worn it quite a few times, including on my Paris trip. I don't like how linen wrinkles, but I like how it feels on.


It's hard to see from far away, but this fabric isn't a solid. It is made up of threads in purple, red, blue, and a little yellow. It may not be surprising that the purples, reds, and blues are all firmly in my color palette - but so is the yellow!








I wore this dress several times after making it as well. I bought this fabric for a song, so this would do very well in a price per wear calculation.


This blue is very close to the color my palette designates my "signature" color. I would have assumed my signature color was something darker like an emerald green or navy, but based on this dress and another more recent make - this makes sense. This color not only looks good against my skin and hair, but I feel happy just looking at it. And the bright yellow shows up here again on my accessories!





Unfortunately this dress hasn't been worn as much as it deserves. Much like the striped maxi dress, I hope to have more chances to wear it this summer.


Buying this fabric felt like a risk at the time because I was worried about the amount of white. But I absolutely loved this dress both in photos and in person. Bright white is in my palette (although I think it is best used sparingly), as is true red, and these greens.








This was my third time making this tank pattern and this one is just as versatile as the other two despite the bright colors. I've repeatedly worn it as a layering piece.


This fabric is mostly within my color palette. The exception is the strip of orange between the red and purple. I included both pictures here to point out how different pants pull out different colors in the tank.



I like both of these tops, but because I have to wear something underneath (to fill in the neckline) I don't reach for them as often as I thought I would.


Despite the blue and white both being in my palette, I think the blue looks so much better on me. Perhaps because it pulls out the blue in the skirt.





This dress is made from the same pattern as the purple linen dress, but with short sleeves. I wore this a lot right into fall, since it goes with all tights and sweaters.


My color palette emphasizes using bright white and pure black as neutrals - and I do think this dress goes well with all my blues, red, and pinks. However, I don't feel as good in this as I do in the purple version color-wise, so I suspect I'll continue to mostly avoid all black garments.


The pink of these shoes is very close to the color in my palette designated as "energizing". I have to admit, this bright pink is a favorite of mine.




I have not had an occasion to wear this dress. Someday it will get a night out to be admired.


This silhouette makes me feel incredibly sexy. It is fitted without being tight and has interest (the faux wrap) without feeling busy.


This color is a little more muted than my palette would recommend, but the tones are right. I'm not sure a bright color would feel as appropriate for evening. Psychologically, I think I associate darker colors with cocktail party attire.





This is the first of the outfits from my planned capsule that I completed and I am proud of both of these pieces for several reasons. I really feel like I have upped my sewing skill over the course of 2021 and both of these are a reflection of that improvement.


Swishing about in these pants, made from fabric I bought in Paris, makes me feel stylish. I like the neckline and small cap sleeves on the tank and it tucks in beautifully.


This top is my signature color per the palette and seeing it in photos that makes sense. The burgundy/plum color - depending on the lighting - of the pants is firmly in my color palette and is adjacent to the dark red color designated as "powerful".


My final make of 2021, I have worn this dress a couple times, but it has a limited season because of the color scheme.


This is the fifth time I've used this particular shirtdress pattern and while this has been tweaked to be a little looser, this silhouette is my day to day sweet spot.


This fabric is composed entirely of colors within my palette. The green leaves and red berries aren't surprising, but the yellow-green leaves are also a color in my palette.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page