top of page
  • Writer's pictureKerry M

A Trio of Tops



Summer is (hopefully) drawing to a close, but I've still got a few more projects to get up on the blog before I can start talking about my fall sewing. I'm a lot more organized for fall and I'm looking forward to sharing more of my process, but first we have to get through summer.


At the same time that I bought the teal linen I used to make my Itch to Stitch dress, I picked up a couple other linen remnants.



Neither was quite enough for a dress, so I decided to make some casual linen shirts for the fading days of summer. For the rainbow stripe, I settled on a tried and true Cashmerette Springfield. For the bright blue, however, I decided to make a peplum top from the Cashmerette Roseclair pattern (the same pattern I used to make my strawberry wrap dress). There are several lovely version of this out there like this beautiful white one, this gingham one, and this gorgeous one from cotton lawn.


As I was preparing to cut these out, I recalled my friend Traci commenting that the embroidered white fabric I tried to use for a Regency dress would make a nice summer blouse.



It was too sheer and delicate on it's own, so I paired it with a thin linen/cotton blend in a similar ivory shade as an underlining.


All three shirts were very easy to sew up, since I've made both patterns before. The most work was in hand-sewing down the armhole and neckline facings on all three. I could have used my machine and topstitched them, but I like the look when they're slipstitched down inside.



I also chose not to put elastic in the sleeves for the Roseclair shirts. I have realized that I don't like how things gather when they have elastic in them. This largely applies to waistbands (love how comfortable they are, hate how they look on me), but I'm applying it across the board. Instead I drafted some simple narrow cuffs by measuring my arm circumference (and adding some ease and seam allowance) and then figuring out how narrow I wanted them and doubling it (and adding seam allowance).



And when all three were done, I made a little mini-capsule wardrobe with some RTW pants and a skirt.



The striped shirt unfortunately doesn't go with the striped skirt, but otherwise it makes a pretty good group of outfits!


I have to admit that I'm not crazy about the white wrap top. I think white just isn't my color no matter how pretty the fabric is. I do like the blue one, although unlike the dress version, the neckline on this one slips a little bit so I have to pin it or wear a tank underneath. The rainbow striped tank I've already worn several times - it is by far the most me of the shirts and despite all its colors, it goes with a lot of things I own.



12 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page