top of page
  • Writer's pictureKerry M

Beautiful Birds

This project was not part of my fall capsule wardrobe, but I couldn't resist this cotton lawn from Emma One Sock.



This cotton lawn is the perfect fabric for another McCall's 6696. This time I lengthened the front bodice 1", added 2" to the waist (so it would be nice and loose), and drafted a covered button placket. I also used the full sleeves from the wool version. It is amazing to me how much of a difference these small changes make to the overall look.


I've made this pattern enough times that it goes together very quickly. I had to check the directions to make sure of the order of operations the first couple times (hem, then button placket, then collar). At this point, though, I have it memorized.


One of the most fun parts of this pattern is using a contrasting fabric for the facings. I had this bird patterned batik in my stash and it seemed like the perfect partner for the lawn. It is a quilting fabric, so it's stiff, but that actually works out well for the facings.



The seams are finished with my current favorite method - a zigzag stitch just outside the stitch line. It isn't as neat as a french seam or seam binding, but for fabrics that don't fray it is quick and easy.


Initially, I used these beautiful vintage glass buttons - but several broke the first couple times I wore the dress, so now I've had to replace them. Luckily no one sees the buttons because of the hidden placket.



I dragged over my tree to the sewing corner and had a little fun taking photos!



I'm most likely to wear the dress with tights and boots, but the colors go so well with my Irregular Choice candy heels that I couldn't resist doing some photos with those.



21 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page