top of page
  • Writer's pictureKerry M

Dreaming of Vacation

Updated: Apr 1, 2021

This was a straightforward and satisfying project. I bought the fabric without a plan and the patterns with a very different fabric in mind, but the end result is cute and comfortable.



The fabric is a linen from Blackbird Fabrics whose dark blue and bright oranges I just couldn't resist.



The pattern is the Waikerie Dress (pronounced like bakery) from pattern company Muna and Broad. After seeing this travel capsule from Leila (one of the two co-owners of Muna and Broad) composed entirely of clothing sewn from their patterns, I realized just how versatile their designs are.


I waffled on what pattern to try first, but I liked that the Waikerie shirt and dress patterns together have so many options. I went with a straight view B - short sleeves, mitered hem, and collar. Despite how quickly it goes together, the pattern is full of nice details. There are no darts, but the sides of the dress are subtly shaped so it hangs nicely on the body.



It has huge, well-anchored pockets hidden in the side seams. And when I say huge, I mean large enough to fit my Kindle! Honestly, pockets big enough for a book are the way to my heart.



The hem on this view of the pattern cleanly folds up into these mitered corners. Any wonkiness here is my own error - this is such a clever design and it was a joy to fold up and see it take shape.



The small sleeve cuffs are sewn on in the round, which makes it very easy to finish their seams. It's ingenious, honestly, how it all goes together.



It's all about the details on this one - I had a little fun picking out different thread colors for my buttonholes down the front.



And finally, probably my favorite thing about this pattern (other than those pockets!) - the back.



I made this all in one fabric, but the color blocking opportunities are many. Picture it with a contrast yoke and sleeve bands! To me, this is one of the signs of a good pattern. It's deceptively simple looking, but you could do so many things with it to really make it your style.


The Waikerie dress works as a duster or cover-up as well. I had a little fun styling mine that way for spring and summer.



I have to admit, I'm already planning a shirt version in the cropped length.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page